Wartburg Speedway Feature Racing Article 7-28-12

July 31, 2012

Wartburg Speedway Feature Racing Article 7-28-12


                With just a handful of races left in the 2012 season at Wartburg Speedway, the action on the track stayed fast and furious this past Saturday night at “The ‘Burg”!


                In the Wartburg Late  Models, it was Dustin Diden earning his first career pole position with a solid 13.126 lap. But in the feature, it was all “The Flying Welshan” of Jason Welshan who went wire-to-wire for the feature win with Diden a career best second, “The Dirty White Boy” Anthony White charging up from last to third, Dan Tipton, and Travis Armes rounding out the top five. Hunter Best, Danny Yoder, “Flyin’” Brian Hooks, “The King” Drew Kennedy, and Matthew Langley rounded out the top ten with Chris Marcum and John Hooks rounding out the field.


                In a small car-count for the Open Wheel class, it was Keith Longmire setting fast time with a 13.514 lap, but Amos Bunch went wire to wire in the feature to take the win with Longmire, A.J. Garber, and Billy Palmer rounding out the field.


                In the Sportsman division, 11 cars were signed in as “The Cupcake” Logan Adcock won the first heat and “The Cobra” Jimmy York won the second heat. In the feature, York led the  first four circuits but “The Rookie Rocket” Jaylon Shannon scorched past York and led the rest of the way for the win. York was second with Michael Jones a career-best third, David Hall in fourth, and Bobby Jones rounding out the top five. Brianna Kyle had a solid sixth-place showing with Wesley Adkins, Zach Shannon, and D.J. Shannon rounding out the field as Adcock was disqualified for being too light at the scales and Bobby White was unable to start the feature.


                In the Street division, Dewayne “Hollywood” Hutcherrson led the first five laps of the heat until ‘The Wartburg Warrior” Reagan Williams took the lead on the white flag lap and won the heat. However, due to his lengthy winning streak, Williams had to start in seventh for the feature. For six laps, Hutcherson led the way, but ultimately, Williams got to the front on lap seven and never looked back for the win as Hutcherson had to settle for second with Robby Johnson, DJ McMahan, Derek Diden, Mackenzie White, and Walter Walsh rounding out the field.


                The Extremes division saw Jr. Kittrell win his heat and go flag-to-flag for the feature win over Blake Hall, Robert Lewis, Joey Reynolds, Dustin Holt, William Ledford, Ronnie Bibbins, and Kenny May.


                In the other feature races, “The Knoxville Knight” Alan VanWhy took the Mod Lite feature over Josh Pugh and David Appleby. In Mod. Mini, Tom Vann triumphed over Darren Goins and Brian Frost. But the best race of the night was saved for last in the Thunder division as Bucky Nance had more than his hands full with “The Bounty Hunter” Westley Lester hunting him down until an untimely spin on the final lap gave the win to Nance as Lester was second and Kenneth Williams was third.


                There aree just five points races left in the 2012 season at “The ‘Burg” so time is running out to catch some show stoppin’, crowd poppin’, fan shockin’, pulse poundin’, heart racin’, thrill a minute action at Wartburg Speedway!

  • Post History

    December 2014
    S M T W T F S
    « Apr    

Ticket Prices

Gates Open-3:30pm      Hot Laps-6:00pm

Grandstand Admission: Adult $10.00
Children 8 to 12 years old, $5
Children 7 and under: Free with paying adult

Tier Parking: Adult $15.00
Children 8 to 12 years old, $10
Children 7 and under: Free with paying adult

Pit Admission: $25.00
Children 12 years old and under, $10
(Parent or Legal guardian must sign waiver for any minor in the pits)

Find us on Facebook

Join wartburg speedway text alerts on RainedOut